研究方向

G 蛋白偶联受体蛋白(GPCRs)结构功能与新药发现 G蛋白偶联受体蛋白是最重要的药物靶标。目前市场上大约40% 的药物都是针对GPCR而开发的。我们结合传统生物化学,结构生物学与计算生物学的方法,研究了GPCRs在细胞膜环境下的激活过程。此外我们还在GPCR 的药物发现方面有着重大突破。在这一领域,我们的代表著作包括: Chemical Science 2018 (doi:10.1039/C8SC01680A), Trends in Pharmacological Sciences 2017 (doi:10.1016/j.tips.2017.08.004), Angew Chem 2016 (doi:10.1002/anie.201603766), Angew Chem 2015 (doi:10.1002/anie.201501742), Nature Communications 2014 (doi:10.1038/ncomms5733) 等。

离子通道的结构与功能 近期,我们解析了第一个哺乳动物半胱氨酸环离子通道 (5-HT3)的晶体结构,并发表在国际顶级期刊《自然》上 (Nature 2014, doi:10.1038/nature13552.)。此外,我们还利用生物计算的方法,研究了半胱氨酸环离子通道的激活过程 (Structure 2016, doi:10.1016/j.str.2016.03.019)。 在这一领域,我们将继续利用冷冻电镜的方法,研究重要离子通道在细胞膜环境下的分子动态与激活过程。

生物技术创新 我们发明了世界上第一块用于观测G蛋白偶联受体蛋白(GPCRs, 最重要的药物研发靶标) 激活过程的生物芯片。我们发明了世界上第一块测量细胞电生理的芯片。此外,我们还发明了在原生态细胞膜环境下测试药物分子与药物靶标膜蛋白相互作用的方法。近期,我们创立了单分子细胞追踪技术。基于我们已有的和正在创新的其他前沿生物技术,结合现代计算生物学与人工智能,我们将在分子水平研究药物分子与重要药物靶标蛋白的作用动态过程。最终将推进当代新药发现。

Research scopes

The structural functions and drug discovery of GPCRs G protein-coupled receptors (GPCRs) are the most popular drug targets. It has been estimated that about 40% of the marketed drugs are targeting GPCRs. We combine the traditional biochemistry and structural biology with the up-to-date computational biology to elucidate the activation process for GPCRs at plasma membrane environment. We have also made tremendous progress in GPCR drug discovery. This is represented by a series of published works, including Chemical Science 2018 (doi:10.1039/C8SC01680A), Trends in Pharmacological Sciences 2017 (doi:10.1016/j.tips.2017.08.004), Angew Chem 2016 (doi:10.1002/anie.201603766), Angew Chem 2015 (doi:10.1002/anie.201501742), Nature Communications 2014 (doi:10.1038/ncomms5733) and many others.

The structures and signalling of ion channels We recently published the first high-resolution structure of a mammalian pentameric ligand gated ion channel, the serotonin 5-HT3 receptor, by X-ray crystallography of detergent purified receptor (Nature 2014, doi:10.1038/nature13552.). We will continue this research using cryo-electron microscopy to elucidate in atomic detail by time-resolved structural analysis the entire process of receptor activation from a closed to an open channel in native plasma membrane fragments, i.e. without any receptor purification/reconstitution process. We have also illuminated the activation process of 5-HT3 receptor sucessfully using all-atom long time scale molecular dynamics simulations (Structure 2016, doi:10.1016/j.str.2016.03.019).

Developing new biotechnology for membrane protein signalling dections Based on our pioneering developments of labelling proteins in live cells with fluorescent probes, we continue research resolving the interaction network of membrane proteins with cellular signalling proteins in living cells fluorescence microscopy with single-molecule resolution. We are establishing and extending our current curricula in cellular biophysics